Sunny Surrey

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a girl who gets bored instantaneously. I hate doing the same thing, being in the same place, seeing the same things for any longer than a short period of time, and so I am constantly on the lookout for places for me to visit and things for me to do. Luckily my lovely other half lives right across the country from me, so I can use seeing him as an excuse for a time away to explore somewhere new.

So last weekend, I decided to make the 4 and a half hour train journey (my fear of motorway driving is yet to be conquered), and spend a weekend discovering the Surrey area. Luckily we were blessed with beautiful weather, some of the warmest we have had this year, which made the whole experience even more enjoyable. We mainly spent our time exploring Surbiton, and Kingston-upon-thames, both of which were equally lovely. Me being me meant that our exploring mainly centred around food, as my stomach honestly rules my life (I get seriously hangry when I don’t get enough food), but that was okay, because we essentially had four days dedicated to eating the best food Surrey had to offer. Photo 01-04-2017, 13 48 23

The streets of Surbiton were some of the nicest I’ve seen, and just wandering through on a sunny Saturday afternoon was a lovely experience.

Photo 01-04-2017, 15 28 15

A walk along the river Thames proved for a lovely afternoon – the sun was shining, swans and geese swam alongside us whilst boats travelled languidly up and down the water filled with tourists all wanting to take pictures of the beautiful scenery, and rightly so!

Photo 01-04-2017, 15 28 19 (1)Photo 01-04-2017, 15 38 05Photo 02-04-2017, 16 36 40Photo 02-04-2017, 16 37 47 (1)Photo 01-04-2017, 14 14 08

On the Saturday we visited The Hart’s Boatyard for lunch (we didn’t just go because of my namesake, I promise). We had a gorgeous meal overlooking the water, this deep fried brie (see above) was heaven on a plate, although if consumed regularly is probably a heart attack on a plate!

Photo 02-04-2017, 15 06 41

On Sunday we decided to yet again go out for lunch, and this time opted for a little french cafe called The French Tarte. Alongside traditional french savouries like cheese and ham croissants and brioche toast, they served a huge array of french cakes, tarts and patisserie. I had this beautiful little raspberry mousse cake which was almost too beautiful to eat (although I still managed to devour it pretty quickly). Anything with edible gold leaf is extremely exciting in my opinion, and so my loving boyfriend had to endure my squeals of glee and subsequent instagramming when I was served this little beauty.

These are just some snippets from my weekend in Surrey, but I highly recommend a visit to both of the eateries mentioned. Even if you can’t get away to somewhere new, a weekend of exploring is always a mood booster and so if you can, its always worth the effort.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, stay tuned for more to come.

Daisy. xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

